Tuesday, September 25, 2012

After all, he is from Notre Dame

Who else has a better claim to a Hail Mary pass if not Golden Tate.  And among the numerous ironies of last night's Monday Night Football game, won on the final play by Seattle, was that the (mostly justifiably) maligned referees got a call right;

When the players hit the ground in the end zone, the officials determined that both Tate and [Green Bay defender] Jennings had possession of the ball. Under the rule for simultaneous catch, the ball belongs to Tate, the offensive player. The result of the play was a touchdown.
Replay Official Howard Slavin stopped the game for an instant replay review. The aspects of the play that were reviewable included if the ball hit the ground and who had possession of the ball. In the end zone, a ruling of a simultaneous catch is reviewable. That is not the case in the field of play, only in the end zone.
Referee Wayne Elliott determined that no indisputable visual evidence existed to overturn the call on the field, and as a result, the on-field ruling of touchdown stood. The NFL Officiating Department reviewed the video today and supports the decision not to overturn the on-field ruling following the instant replay review.
Missed in all this is that with all the millions of dollars ESPN spends putting this show on, they didn't bother to spend a few dollars for an NFL rule book for the announcers in the booth.  The phrase, 'simultaneous possession' apparently not being in their vocabulary.

No comments:

Post a Comment